UNSW's 70th Anniversary 


UNSW is founded

1949 On 1 July 1949 the University of New South Wales, the State's second university, was incorporated as the then New South Wales University of Technology. The Foundation Stone for the first permanent building to be constructed on campus - now known as the 'Old Main Building' - was set on 25 February 1950 and the building was officially opened on 16 April 1955.






All photos have been provided by UNSW Archives.