Queen's Birthday Honours 2013 

Congratulations to the following UNSW Alumni that have been recognised in the 2013 Queen's Birthday Honours.

Officer of the Order of Australia

Professor Simon Chapman AO BA'73 MA(Hons)'77

For distinguished service to medical research as an academic and author, particularly in the area of public health policy, and to the community. 

Major General Peter Gilmore DSC AO BA'83

For distinguished service as Special Operations Commander Australia, commander of the International Security Assistance Force Special Operations Forces, and Deputy Special Operations Commander Australia. 

Member of the Order of Australia Professor Nikolai Bogduk AM PhD'82 MD'93

For significant service to medical research and education, particularly in the specialties of anatomy, spinal health and chronic pain management. 

His Honour Judge Matthew Myers AM BA LLB'97

For significant service to the community, particularly in the area of family law and welfare.

Dr Lynn Weekes AM PhD'00

For significant service to community health through the promotion of quality use of medicines.

Commander Evan Davies AM CSM RAN MSc'04

For exceptional service as a Joint Operational Planner at Headquarters Joint Operations Command in support of operations in Afghanistan from January 2007 to December 2012.

Colonel Brendan Stevens AM MBus'12

For exceptional service to the Australian Defence Force in the fields of career management and workforce strategy.  

Dr Paul Beaumont AM MB BS'67

For significant service to medicine, particularly in ophthalmology. 

Mr Aarne Neeme AM BA'69

For significant service to the performing arts as a director and educator in theatre and television.

Mr Paul Salteri AM BCom'72

For significant service to the building and construction industry, and to philanthropy.

Mr Constantine Vertzayias AM BJuris'76 LLB'76

For significant service to the Australian-Greek community.

Mr Rowan Ross AM BCom'77

For significant service to arts governance, and to business.

Professor Robyn Ward AM MB BS'84 PhD'94

For significant service to medical research and patient care in the field of oncology.

Dr David Sheen AM MHP'85

For significant service to dentistry, particularly in developing countries. 

Dr Robert Barr AM ME'81

For significant service to engineering, particularly electrical energy supply and distribution.

Medal of the Order of Australia

Mr John Gelling OAM BSc'69

For service to education and to the teaching profession through a range of leadership roles. 

Mr Anthony Culberg OAM BCom'74

For service to the community of Tasmania.

Mr Terrence Cummins OAM BA'73 DipEd'74

For service to sport, particularly scuba diving.

Dr Douglas Hawley OAM BSc'69 PhD'74

For service to the community of Canterbury. 

Wing Commander Stephen Chappell OAM BA'95

For meritorious service to the Royal Australian Air Force in the field of Air Combat. 

Public Service Medal 

Sub Lieutenant Timothy Spiteri PSM MSc'05

For outstanding public service in support of Australia's diplomatic and military efforts in Afghanistan.

Mr Phillip Raskall PSM BCom'73

For outstanding public service to the City of Sydney Council.

Mr George Gates PSM MSc'81

For outstanding public service, particularly in the area of water management in New South Wales. 

Conspicuous Service Cross

Lieutenant Colonel Scott Tatnell CSC MDefStud'08

For outstanding achievement as the Commanding Officer Combat Training Centre-Live

Flight Lieutenant Trent McIntosh CSC GradCertMgtStud'11

For outstanding achievement as a Logistics Officer in Aerospace Systems Division, Defence Materiel Organisation.

Colonel Michael Lehmann CSC BA'86

For outstanding achievement and leadership as the Director Military Afghanistan, Defence Signals Directorate, providing intelligence support to Australian and Coalition forces in Afghanistan.

Group Captain Glen Beck CSC BSc'90

For outstanding achievement as Commanding Officer of Number 77 Squadron.

Lieutenant Colonel Scott Corrigan CSC BSc'92

For outstanding achievement as the Commanding Officer of the Special Operations Engineer Regiment. 

Conspicuous Service Medal 

Commander Anita Sellick CSM RAN BSc'96

For meritorious devotion to duty as Staff Officer Navigation and Seamanship and as Commander Policy, Australian Maritime Warfare Centre. 

Major Bronwyn Johnstone CSM MMgtStud'10

For meritorious achievement as the Acting Staff Officer Grade One Establishments in the Directorate of Plans - Army. 

Wing Commander Lionel Bentley CSM BE'90 GradDipDefStud'06

For meritorious devotion to duty in support of Heron remotely piloted vehicle operations.

Lieutenant Commander Alexander Gibbs CSM RAN BSc'95

For meritorious achievement as Staff Officer Grade 2 Operations in Headquarters Northern Command in support of border protection operations. 

Major Jeremy Mikus CSM BSc'00 MSc'09

For meritorious achievement in the planning and execution of the Army TORCH Battlespace Management System trial within 1st Brigade.  

Distinguished Service Cross

Major General Stuart Smith AM DSC BA'84

For distinguished command and leadership in warlike operations as Commander Joint Task Force 633 on Operation SLIPPER from January to October 2012. 

Lieutenant Colonel Kahlil Fegan DSC MMgtStud'07

For distinguished command and leadership in warlike operations and in action as the Commanding Officer, Mentoring Task Force 4 on Operation SLIPPER in Afghanistan from January to June 2012.